top of page

We tried


Only an equally good proofreader can match a skilled translator. That's what we agreed on when, for this chapter, most of us banded our brain cells together to try and proofread chapter 11 of Gensou Gourmet as a group. (it took us 5 hours but it was fun!)

In my old age, I have come to appreciate script/narration quality over the appearance of the drawings. Typesetting and the end result of the editing also plays a major role in my appreciation of a chapter. I'm sure the others will agree that, after scanlating for a while, reading other scanlated work draws our attention to these details. In my case, I start reshaping text in my mind to see if it would fit the bubble better, I pay close attention to fonts and inconsistencies and I try to figure out the method used for the redrawing. I guess that removes most of the enjoyment and is the reason why I barely read manga anymore haha... Of course, this might also be the case for anyone!

In this chapter, you'll notice that the group with whom we've teamed up with for the cleans and redraws has decided to texturize the originally smooth screentones. Hm.

What someone might think is a well-scanlated chapter is very subjective, which is why I wouldn't say our work is perfect. However, it is the result of what we currently think looks good with the skills and raw pages we have. I hope everyone will keep experimenting, learning and enjoying whatever it is they do!

-Cherry

Gensou Gourmet ch.11: Read Download

65 views
bottom of page